In a nutshell: Facebook may be one of the most popular social media platforms on the planet, but not everyone wants to continue using it. Luckily, Facebook makes it easy to delete unwanted accounts online.Whether you have an old account you no longer use or want to leave the platform permanently, follow this guide to delete a Facebook account you no longer want.
Facebook may be one of the most popular social media platforms on the planet, but not everyone wants to continue using it. Luckily, Facebook makes it easy to delete unwanted accounts online.Whether you have an old account you no longer use or want to leave the platform permanently, follow this guide to delete a Facebook account you no longer want.
Open a new browser window and type www.facebook.com into the address bar. Hit Return.
You now need to log in to your Facebook account. Enter the email address or mobile number associated with the account, type your password, and tap Log in.
If you've forgotten your password, hit Forgotten password? and follow the instructions to recover your account.
Now you have access to your Facebook account, click on your profile picture or the person icon in the top-right corner. Select Settings & privacy.
Select Accounts Center from the menu on the left.
Once you delete your Facebook account, you have 30 days to cancel the deletion request. After 30 days, you won't be able to access any content.
Before moving on to the next step, consider downloading a copy of your Facebook account so you can keep important photos, posts, and other content.
To do this, select Your information and permissions from the menu, click Export your information, and follow the instructions to choose the data to save and where to save it.
Once you've copied everything you don't want to lose, select Manage accounts from the menu.
On the right is a list of your Facebook profiles. Click Manage next to the one you want to delete. Ensure you select the correct account, especially if you manage more than one Facebook profile.
From the pop-up list, choose the option that best matches your reason for deleting your Facebook account. Click Continue.
Before permanently deleting your account, Facebook gives you the chance to deactivate it instead. This could be a good option if you still want to use Messenger or use FB to log in to other apps.
If you're sure you want to delete your account, keep clicking Continue.
Eventually, you'll be asked to enter your password. Do so and click Continue.
Click Delete account to confirm.
And that's it! Your Facebook account will be permanently deleted after 30 days. Should you change your mind during this time, you can cancel the deletion process by logging in using your email or phone number and password.
Whether you want to close an old profile or come off the platform completely, follow the steps above to permanently delete a Facebook account you do not want. Before confirming the deletion, remember to save anything important, as you will lose access to all content after 30 days. If you're unsure about leaving permanently, consider temporarily deactivating your account instead.If you need help with any part of the process, contact Facebook customer service for assistance.

GetHuman has been working for over 10 years on sourcing information about big organizations like Comcast in order to help customers resolve customer service issues faster. We started with contact information and fastest ways to reach a human at big companies. Particularly ones with slow or complicated IVR or phone menu systems. Or companies that have self-serve help forums instead of a customer service department. From there, we realized that consumers still needed more detailed help solving the most common problems, so we expanded to this set of guides, which grows every day. And if you spot any issues with our What do I do if my Xfinity TV or internet is out? guide, please let us know by sending us feedback. We want to be as helpful as possible. If you appreciated this guide, please share it with your favorite people. Our free information and tools is powered by you, the customer. The more people that use it, the better it gets.