I went to the Petco location "*** Merrimon Ave, Asheville, NC *****" on **-*-**** aroun...

GetHuman-hoffertc's Complaint issue with PETCO from November 2019

Help with my PETCO issue
First: share to improve GetHuman-hoffertc's odds
Strength in numbers! Companies respond better when others are watching.
Before contacting them, items GetHuman-hoffertc may need:
Order number, Billing address, and Email address on the account (if applicable)
Top Tip from another customer
The best way to submit a complaint is actually submitting the issue over the phone and asking to speak with a manager. You can also submit feedback forms using email or on the website. You can also submit the issue to the local manager.
The issue in GetHuman-hoffertc's own words
I went to the Petco location "*** Merrimon Ave, Asheville, NC *****" on **-*-**** around *:**pm and had terrible experience. **I also want to preface this by saying I was hesitant to go to this location to begin with, as it does not have a reputation for kind and helpful staff. **Last night I was going to purchase a goldfish for my ** gallon fish tank, and the clerk (Amber, I believe) proceeded to tell me that because of my tank conditions (which are perfectly acceptable for one fancy goldfish) she was not going to sell me the fish. I explained to her that I disagreed that the tank was inadequate but I would not force her to sell me a fish. **I also explained that I originally wanted a Betta fish, but all of the ones at that location were sick*dying and I did not want to risk taking one home. Not a single Betta looked fit for purchase, their health conditions were terrible. She then proceeded to tell me that if I warmed them up, they would be fine again. That is not only incorrect, but it does not make any sense as the store's ambient temperature was fine for Betta and they should have been healthy. Her lack of knowledge of fish prevented me from purchasing a pet that would have been completely fine to take home. I also understand the stores need to up-sell items, but her approach was to try to sell me tank accessories that were not necessary or inappropriate for goldfish. **I would like this issue to be resolved by first, ensuring the Betta fish at that location are taken better care of. And secondly, please train your staff to have the knowledge necessary to sell fish before they turn away customers. One quick internet search would have shown her hundreds of articles on how a ** gallon tank is perfectly acceptable for a fancy goldfish. **It is unlikely I will be returning to Petco for any of my pet needs. I will instead go to*recommend Petsmart who has always been friendly and helpful and who have not given me false information on fish care. Thank you for your time and attention, and I hope you have a good rest of your day.

GetHuman-hoffertc did not yet indicate what PETCO should do to make this right.

How GetHuman-hoffertc fixed the problem

We are waiting for GetHuman-hoffertc to fix the problem and share the solution with the rest of us customers.

Do you have a customer issue as well?
We can help you get PETCO's attention and get better help faster. Tap below to get started.
Having PETCO issues too?
Get tips from pros & other customers, and get it handled faster:
For better results, write at least 100 characters
This email address isn't valid


Complaint issue
Reported by GetHuman-hoffertc
Nov 3rd, 2019 - 2 years ago
Not resolved
Seen by 8 customers so far
Similar issue to 930 others
0 customers following this


GetHuman-hoffertc started working on this issue
Nov 3rd, 2019 2:50pm

Change of Address? Free Concierge.

Call our Free Concierge and we will compare service and plans in your new home area and schedule all setup for the same day- free of charge! Get a better deal on all your services in 1 call, and let us make scheduling easy for you.

Call Now: 888-959-6783Our concierge is unaffiliated and therefore able to compare deals (and schedule) across many companies