I placed an order with IKEA over * weeks ago. The original delivery was scheduled for a...

GetHuman-joelkee's customer service issue with Ikea from October 2018

1 view | 8512 similar | 0 following
Help with my Ikea issue
Next: our robot will wait on hold for GetHuman-joelkee to get a Ikea rep on the line!
Always use the GetHuman Phone to call Ikea. We wait on hold and get a rep on the line for you faster and for free!
First: share to improve GetHuman-joelkee's odds
Strength in numbers! Companies respond better when others are watching.
Before contacting them, items GetHuman-joelkee may need:
Account name, Account email, Account phone number, Account address, and Order number
The issue in GetHuman-joelkee's own words
I placed an order with IKEA over * weeks ago. The original delivery was scheduled for about * week after the order date. Due to insufficient stock (indicated to me only AFTER placing the original purchase, not before), my delivery was then delayed a few more days. Then, the night before the newly scheduled delivery day, that delivery date was again postponed another *-* days, with the notification email sent to me still incorrectly reporting that delivery was scheduled for the last cancelled day. Finally expecting to have a verified delivery after tracking the order on IKEA's shipping service, I received yet another email the day of delivery explaining that the courier service attempted to call me but could not figure out which road to take to my address, so just cancelled the delivery. I live in a city center with buses and delivery trucks parking outside my window all day, so the address is very accessible. Why am I supposed to tell them how to read a map and pick a road? I have now had to call to reschedule the delivery yet again, a month after the day I placed the original order. It is ****. And this poor service is unacceptable. **SOLUTIONS for IKEA: **) Don't sell items you can't have stocked in a reasonable time for delivery. Better indicate "backordered" online for store locations and the expected dates they will be restocked.**) Try to rescheule delayed deliveries with more advance notice. People's schedules have already been committed the night before. **) Make sure the cancel notice is clear and not a form letter describing an issue that is not the recipient's concern (e.g. "Dear Recipient, Our records indicate you did not pay for your order yet *...* but if you have already paid, disregard this first notice and read further..."). Also, if the form letter needs to be sent multiple times, update the important information - like the date - to be correct.**) IKEA is an international company. So you and delivery services should be able to send and receive international calls*texts. Especially since everyone is from everywhere and all have mobile devices.**) Before cancelling a delivery the day it is scheduled, ring the doorbell first.... **Sincerely,*Joel

GetHuman-joelkee did not yet indicate what Ikea should do to make this right.

How GetHuman-joelkee fixed the problem

We are waiting for GetHuman-joelkee to fix the problem and share the solution with the rest of us customers.

Prefer a step by step guide?
We've taken the time to write instructions for how to solve some of the most common Ikea customer problems.
How Do I Track My Ikea Order?How Do I Track My Order from Ikea?How Do I Let Ikea Know About a Problem with My Order?How Do I Cancel an Order with Ikea?How do I return something for a refund to Ikea?
Do you have a customer issue as well?
We can help you get Ikea's attention and get better help faster. Tap below to get started.
Having Ikea issues too?
Get tips from pros & other customers, and get it handled faster:
For better results, write at least 100 characters
This email address isn't valid
Follow this issue
See how GetHuman-joelkee fixes it.
This email address isn't valid

Ikea

Customer service issue
Reported by GetHuman-joelkee
Oct 23rd, 2018 - 3 years ago
Not resolved
Seen by 1 customer so far
Similar issue to 8512 others
0 customers following this

Timeline

GetHuman-joelkee started working on this issue
Oct 23rd, 2018 1:22pm