Where is the customer service? Due to lies by Morningside Inn NY as to their accommodation description and quality on the Agoda website we checked out within an hour of checking in. Now Agoda has believed Morningside that we stayed in the room when we have provided evidence that we checked in and paid for alternate accommodation.

GetHuman1539366's customer service issue with Agoda from November 2018

14 views | 12797 similar | 0 following
Help with my Agoda issue
GetHuman1539366's next move: try calling Agoda again.
The best way to get your problem resolved is to tap the button below to start calling Agoda. We will check on you later to see if it's fixed or needs to be escalated.
The issue in GetHuman1539366's own words
Obtain a refund for the accommodation that we did not use. ... Please refer to the details below, we have also tried the telephone as well however due the restrictive method of contacting Agoda we cannot get through. We expect a full refund from Morningside Inn or Agoda for the accommodation costs and all additional expenses incurred by us due to blatant inaccuracies of Morningside Inn on the Agoda website as well as the total lack of assistance from Agoda in this matter.**Hereunder is a copy of some of the emails to and fro with Agoda. I have a lot more as well as pdf's and photo's that would not paste into this area.**We can be contacted by telephone on ************.**Regards*Giselle and Michael Satie**Good morning Agoda*I have received a notification email from your company saying that our complaint is finalized & asking for feedback. My complaint is certainly not finalized as per below emails from me, of which I have not received a reply!!**Please acknowledge your receipt of my email & advise on progress of our complaint. **Regards*Giselle & Michael Satie**Begin forwarded message:*From: Giselle Satie ******@***.com**Date: ** October **** at **:**:** GMT-**To: "CUSTOMER-SERVICE@AGODA.COM" *CUSTOMER-SERVICE@AGODA.COM**Subject: Fwd: Contact info from customer (Amend an Existing Reservation -EN) RCEG PCIH BID(*):**********Hi again, *Further to my email below, sent on ** October ****, could you please acknowledge receipt by return email. **Thank you*Giselle & Mike Satie**Never give up... Never surrender. Giselle**Begin forwarded message:*From: Giselle Satie ******@***.com**Date: ** October **** at **:**:** GMT-**To: "CUSTOMER-SERVICE@AGODA.COM" *CUSTOMER-SERVICE@AGODA.COM**Cc: "*****@***.com" ******@***.com*, Giselle Satie ******@***.com**Subject: RE: Contact info from customer (Amend an Existing Reservation -EN) RCEG PCIH BID(*):**********Dear Tqa*Thank you for your prompt reply to my email. Please note that we are still travelling in the USA and sometimes the internet is limited so please forgive any tardiness in our replying to you.*In answer to your questions:* **: You have use the room for * night or you have checked out immediately and did not utilize the room at all? *No, we did not stay the night and left within an hour of checking in. As stated in my previous email, the room was obviously not what we had booked together with the health concerns of no air-conditioning and the mould on the carpet made staying in the room impossible for us. My husband is asthmatic and the possibility of mould spores infecting his lungs and causing possible health issues during our holiday was not an option. We did not disturb anything in the room, it could have been immediately re-issued to new guests.* **) Advise us on the name of the place that you are currently in and provide us with the hotel receipt for further assistance.*We are now staying at ‘The Row NYC.’ Unfortunately, due to the rushed search and that the usual sites we book through would only book from the next day and we needed to move that afternoon, the only online site we found that allowed us to book from the Friday the *th October was “Hotwire”. The Row was one of the cheaper options to us at the time through one of their ‘Hot Deals’ as it was the Columbus Day holiday weekend in New York (which we found out later) and therefore expensive for last minute bookings. A copy of the booking is attached.* *I have placed the photos verifying our complaints below. Please let me know if you do not receive them. *The first photos are screenshots from your website and is what we believed we were booking, a Superior one bed, which we opted to pay extra for, note how the description states “Spacious!”. :* *S * *These photos are from your website and show a Standard room with private bathroom. Again, the room is described as ‘Spacious’ at **Metres square:* * * *The following photos are of the room we were given:* *View from the entry door. The door on the left is the bathroom door which hits the bed in order to exit the bathroom as the basin is to the left of the entry door.* *View from window across the room to bathroom. Note wash basin in the bedroom and not bathroom.* *View from entry door across bed to window with non-working air conditioner. Also proof of how the curtains were tied by the maintenance person so that air could blow into the room. (The curtains would not draw open as they were too tight on the curtain rod.)* *Mould in the carpet at base of the fridge door. The fridge is on the floor.* *Photo of the list given to us by John when he told us we could cancel our booking without charge.* *Screenshot of booking and payment details for Row NYC Hotel. * * * *I hope that this is all the information that you need regarding our claim. Please keep us informed as to when we may expect to receive a refund as this extra expense has placed a large strain on our holiday finances.* *Please advise if you need anything further.* *Regards*Giselle & Mike Satie* * * *From: CUSTOMER-SERVICE@AGODA.COM *CUSTOMER-SERVICE@AGODA.COM* *Sent: Wednesday, ** October **** *:** PM*To: *****@***.com*Subject: Re: Contact info from customer (Amend an Existing Reservation -EN) RCEG PCIH BID(*):********** * * * * * *** ** ** * * * * *Dear Giselle Satie,* *Greetings from agoda.com!* *With reference to your booking ID ********* as detailed below:* *Hotel: Morningside Inn*Room Type: Superior One Bed*City*Country: New York (NY)*United States*Arrival: October *, *****Departure: October **, ***** *Cancellation and Change Policy: Any cancellation received within * days prior to arrival date will incur the first night charge. Failure to arrive at your hotel or property will be treated as a No-Show and will incur the first night charge (Property policy).* *We appreciate the time that you took to send us this email and we have acknowledge on your concern. Kindly allow us to extend our sincere apologies for the experience and inconvenience caused.* *Regards to your concern, please be advised that all the information that is provided in our website are uploaded and provided by the property. Thus shall there be any mismatch on the information provided, our customer comments and feedback are the very best way for us to keep an ear to the ground. * *As a customer ourselves, we do understand the disappointment that this property has brought you too. For that we are currently in the midst of rectifying this concern with the property and we would be very appreciate if you could please allow us some time and we will update you on the status of your concern accordingly.* *This situation is not ordinary, and these incidents are not typical of us. We are very serious when it comes to our client’s satisfaction and have a zero tolerance policy in this respect. Thus, we have escalated this matter to the relevant department to ensure specific measures are taken to avoid this from repeating again.* *In the meantime, it would be a very great help if you could please send or provide us with a pictures of the property condition for us to use it as a proof to the property and negotiate on claim as per required. This information will be reviewed by the property and Agoda team to support and facilitate your request. For more information about our privacy practices please see our Privacy Policy: https:**www.agoda.com*info*agoda-privacy.html* *Along with this, based on your message, it is understand that you have moved to another property. Hence we would be very appreciate if you could please advise us if ** **) You have use the room for * night or you have checked out immediately and did not utilize the room at all? * **) Advise us on the name of the place that you are currently in and provide us with the hotel receipt for further assistance.* *We greatly appreciate your continued support by choosing Agoda as your online hotel reservation service. Once again, we would like to take this opportunity to express our sincere regrets for the inconvenience caused.* *We are looking forward to your reply to assist you further.*Our Customer Care is available around the clock so please do not hesitate to contact us, should you have any further inquiries.* *Regards,*Tqa*Agoda Customer Experience Group*********************************************To contact us, just reply to this email. Be sure not to edit the subject, as this may delay response. You can also Contact Agoda Customer Support to submit a new request online.**Did you know that for most bookings you can change your period of stay, cancel your booking, send a special request, and get a copy of your booking confirmation or receipt through the “Bookings” link? Just log on to www.agoda.com*booking or click Bookings on the Agoda free app.**For security purposes, please do not send us your credit card details via email. Agoda.com will only accept credit card details via the phone or our secure link.************************************************Go Smarter, Go Agoda*Agoda Company Pte Ltd************************************************Book your next trip *Contact Agoda Customer Support ************************************************Agoda handles bookings for thousands of travel brands and websites through our global partners network.* * MANAGE MY BOOKING *** *You can also look for answers to your question in our FAQ page. ** * * Your friends at Agoda * ** * ** * * * *Get the app! * * ** * *** * * * ** *Change your language * *Unsubscribe * ***** Help * *About Agoda * *Privacy Policy * * * *This email was sent by: Agoda Company Pte, Ltd., ** Cecil Street Prudential Tower ***-**, Singapore, ******, Singapore * * * * ** ** * ***On ********** *:** PM, From: ******@***.com* wrote:*Name: Giselle Satie *Email Address : *****@***.com*Booking ID **********Time: ****-**-** **:**:** UTC*Short summary : Cancellation of booking*Message : *I am writing regarding our recent reservation at your hotel. On arriving at *pm, a young lady advised our room was not ready, so we went away and for lunch, returning at around *.**pm. When we returned, the young lady gave us the key to our room. On arriving in our room, the air-conditioning was not working so we tried the telephone to speak to reception, the telephone was plugged into the wall, but it did not work so my husband went down to reception and returned with a maintenance man who showed us where the wall switch was (hiding behind the curtain). He then tied the curtains in a knot so that the air conditioner could cool the room. After ** minutes the room was still not cooling and upon checking, we realized that it was not working correctly, only the fan was working. On checking the fridge, we also saw that there was mould on the carpet where the fridge had leaked. This is not acceptable and is most certainly a health issue. Another lowlight was the very dirty vacuum cleaner that had been left in the small creaky elevator the entire time we were there. We felt this was not the room we had booked, so we checked the Agoda website to clarify, and the site confirmed that what we had booked bore no resemblance to the room we were in. As we felt that we had been given an incorrect room we went down to Reception, speaking with John to question this as well informing him of the air conditioner not working, the mould on the carpet and non-working telephone. John checked the computer and told us that the computer had given us the correct room. We told him we were not happy, he advised there was no other room available as they were fully booked I advised that this was not satisfactory, and he said we would have to speak to his manager who would not be available until the morning. We again advised that we were not happy and this was not good enough at which time he said that our credit card had not yet been debited and could cancel our reservation without charge, he then advised he could provide a list of other hotels in the area so my husband handed him his mobile and John took a photo of the list that is on the wall below the reception counter. After this, we returned to the room to collect our bags and book another hotel elsewhere. When we returned to reception to check out, my husband asked John to sign our personal reservation sheet to confirm that we would not be charged for the cancellation. At this time, John seemed to panic and changed his story, saying that he had told us we would have to speak to his manager re cancellation. My husband and I both disputed this, advising that this was not what he had said previously, which is why we had booked another hotel. At the time this conversation was happening, there were other people waiting to check in. John then said “Sir, just go! Just leave!!” My husband then once again questioned whether we would we be charged and that we expected not to be charged, John’s reply was “Sir, just leave. I will take care of it.” At this time, we left as we didn’t want any further confrontation and believed that this matter had been settled. The ‘Superior Room’ we were allocated is not as described on the Agoda website which states for a Superior Room: “Room size: ** m***** ft* Spacious room” (Quoted from Agoda website) My husband paced out the room and it was barely * * Metres by * Metres which included the wash basin!! This equates to approximately ** metres square with the bathroom adding only * square metres at most, totalling ** square metres!! We could not even put our suitcases on the floor anywhere without covering the walkway around the bed. This coupled with the additional health issues of mould on the carpet and a non-working air conditioner was the basis of why we could not stay at this hotel. Upon checking our credit card statement the next day, we saw that the full amount for our accommodation was pending but we did not take any action, believing that it would be reversed. Upon checking our account this morning, ** October **** we see that our account has been debited the full amount. Please note we have photographic evidence, if required, of: our room* the photo of the other hotels recommended by John* the Agoda website of the type of room we booked. Your confirmation that this amount is to be reversed is appreciated. Regards, Mike & Giselle Satie **Yours sincerely,*Giselle Satie* ******************************************This message is confidential and is for the sole use of the intended recipient(s). It may also be privileged or otherwise protected by copyright or other legal rules. If you have received it by mistake please let us know by reply email and delete it from your system. It is prohibited to copy this message or disclose its content to anyone. Any confidentiality or privilege is not waived or lost by any mistaken delivery or unauthorized disclosure of the message. All messages sent to and from Agoda may be monitored to ensure compliance with company policies, to protect the company's interests and to remove potential malware. Electronic messages may be intercepted, amended, lost or deleted, or contain viruses.
Agoda is believing the lies of Morningside Inn NY when proof has been provided by us to the contrary.**We do not wish to but if this is not resolved amicably we will pursue whatever legal action is available to us.
Issue us with a full refund of accommodation expenses and resulting extra cost due to inaccuracies of the type and quality of the accommodation provided.
We have used Agoda on and off for years. I really expected Agoda to protect us from this type of issue.
We have emailed Agoda numerous times with * different individuals looking at it issue and giving essentially a scripted response. If not resolved amicably I will be pursuing what ever legal action is available to me to obtain a refund.
How GetHuman1539366 fixed the problem

We are waiting for GetHuman1539366 to fix the problem and share the solution with the rest of us customers.

Do you have a customer issue as well?
We can help you get Agoda's attention and get better help faster. Tap below to get started.
Having Agoda issues too?
Get tips from pros & other customers, and get it handled faster:
For better results, write at least 100 characters
This email address isn't valid
Follow this issue
See how GetHuman1539366 fixes it.
This email address isn't valid


Accomodation booking
Customer service issue
Reported by GetHuman1539366
Nov 11th, 2018 - 4 years ago
Seen by 14 customers so far
Similar issue to 12797 others
0 customers following this
Items needed
Email address on the account
Last 4 digits of the payment card
Phone number on the booking
Booking ID


GetHuman1539366 started working on this issue
Nov 11th, 2018 8:40am
GetHuman1539366 indicated the issue is not fixed yet.
Nov 11th, 2018 8:43am
GetHuman1539366 shared this issue with friends on Facebook
Nov 11th, 2018 9:49am
GetHuman1539366 indicated the issue is not fixed yet.
Nov 16th, 2018 9:27am
GetHuman1539366 indicated the issue is not fixed yet.
Nov 16th, 2018 9:27am

Paying Your Telecom Too Much?

We created a free, impartial concierge you can speak to right now that can compare TV, cable, phone, and Internet deals in your area. Are you already getting the best deal? Call now and talk to a real, live person who can tell you what promotions you are missing out on.

Talk to Us Now: 888-379-2546Our concierge is unaffiliated and therefore able to compare deals across many companies